Opening hours

MARKTHALLE

Regular:

Monday – Saturday from 9am to 8pm

Special opening hours:

St. Jakob Beck

Monday – Friday from 7am to 8pm, Saturday from 8am to 8pm

Tritt Käse

Monday - Thursday from 9am to 8pm, Friday and Saturday from 8am to 8pm

IM VIADUKT

Please note the special opening hours on the following dates this year:

Good Friday, 29.3.24
Easter Monday, 1.4.24
Sechseläuten, 15.4.24
Labour Day, 1.5.24
Ascension Day, 9.5.24
Whit Monday, 20.5.24

RESTAURANTS

Restaurant Markthalle

Monday 9am - 11pm
Tuesday through Saturday 9am - midnight
Sunday closed

Ambrosi Coffee Bar

Monday through Friday 11.30am - 2pm, 5.30pm - 10.30pm
Saturday 11am - 10.30pm
Sunday 10am - 10.30pm

Restaurant Viadukt

Monday through Friday 8am - midnight
Saturday 9am - midnight
Sunday 10am - midnight

IM VIADUKT SHOPS

General opening hours

Monday through Friday from 11am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm

For the individual opening hours of each shop, please visit the respective websites.

Special opening hours

Monday, 01.01.2024 New Year closed
Tuesday, 02.01.2024 Berchtold Tag closed

Contact

GENERAL INQUIRIES

For general inquiries regarding 
IM VIADUKT, please contact Stiftung PWG.

info@imviadukt.ch

MEDIA INQUIRIES

Stiftung PWG will send you high-resolution photographic material of all viaduct arches and the latest information upon request.

info@imviadukt.ch

LOCATION

GETTING HERE

Viaduktstrasse 21/97, 8005 Zürich

Tram:

Line 4, Line 13 and Line 17 to Löwenbräu

S-Bahn:

S3, S5, S6, S7, S9, S11, S12, S15, S16 to the railway station Zürich Hardbrücke

Bus:

Lines 33 and 72 to Schiffbau or railway station Zürich Hardbrücke

On foot from Zurich mainstation:

Through the district:

Use the Sihlquai exit and walk in the direction of Zollstrasse, then cross Hafnerstrasse to Josefstrasse until you reach IM VIADUKT.

Along the river:

Use the Landesmuseum exit and walk across the Platzspitz until you reach Drahtschmidliweg, then continue in the direction of Dynamo along the Limmat via Lettenviadukt until you reach IM VIADUKT.

MAY WE INTRODUCE – OUR NEIGHBORS:

PRIME TOWER, HARDBRÜCKE

The Prime Tower is an overwhelming eye-catcher which gives the area real metropolitan flair. This corner of the former Industriequartier district is where urbanity meets dynamic and diverse cultural life. The 36-story Prime Tower is the city's highest building with a height of 126 meters. The major SBB traffic junction Hardbrücke is where up to 80,000 passengers enter, exit or change their trains each day – making it one of the 15 most-frequented railway stations in Switzerland.

LÖWENBRÄU-AREAL
Directly opposite the arches of IM VIADUKT is Zurich's melting pot for contemporary art. The Löwenbräu-Areal is where Kunsthalle Zurich and the Migros Museum of Contemporary Art are at home. Famous galleries such as Hauser & Wirth present the works of international and Swiss artists. The publishing companies Parkett and Edition Patrick Frey are specialized in art publications.

UNTERER LETTEN | OBERER LETTEN
Where urbanity and nature melt into one – swimming, resting and relaxing in the cozy shade, or going for a casual walk along the Limmat river. The recreation area Oberer Letten and the Badi swimming pools of Unterer Letten are equipped with sunbathing areas, a beach volleyball field in addition to bars and restaurants. The restaurant Primitivo of Oberer Letten becomes a trendy hotspot from May through September. In July, the open-air cinema Filmfluss opens its doors at the Badi swimming pools of Unterer Letten.

JOSEFWIESE
Relax in the center of the city: In the green oasis near the densely populated Circle 5 district, you can leave your daily troubles behind. Whether for a lunch break, a picnic with the family, to play Pétanque, try out slack lining, celebrate a birthday or enjoy a beer after work – Josefwiese is a public park designed according to the ideals of social reformer Leberecht Migge. The park is currently the only larger green area within the Circle 5 district, which is open for intensive public use.

GEROLDSTRASSE
Famous for its lively nightlife, Geroldstrasse is also a street with several concept stores, design shops such as Bogen 33 and artist studios. Whether the rockabilly-style vintage dresses of Schiff Ahoi, Le Tom 's accessories made of straw, or the timeless fashion selection of Townhouse – Geroldstrasse has a very wide variety to choose from. Right next door to the Friday Flagship Store, which is made of 19 recycled freight containers, is the very cozy Frau Gerolds Garten. The area is a modular city garden with small shops, fresh menus and a generous sun-drenched terrace.

HISTORY

WITNESSES OF INDUSTRIALIZATION

The railway company had a substantial influence on the city's urban development in the 19th century: In Zurich’s Industriequartier district, the trains rolled over railway embankments which posed insurmountable obstacles for the expansion of the district until they were replaced by viaducts in 1894. Even then, businesses settled in the viaducts. Up to 200 stonemasons conducted their trade, initially outdoors and later in shed-like constructions, which were built where the MARKTHALLE stands today. Right next door to granite stonemason Stacchi's arch, stood what was referred to by locals as the "banana headquarters", a thriving business conducted with tropical fruit and roasted peanuts. Later automobile mechanic Dittgen also set up shop there.

FIL ROUGE
At the end of the 1980s, the SBB made plans to expand the viaduct eastward under the project name "Fil Rouge", in order to increase the capacity of the Zurich HB-Oerlikon line. The new tracks would have been two to three meters higher than those already laid. The tunnel that followed would have still only had two tracks, and trains would have passed the windows of the homes next to the tracks as closely as three meters. Two plans for alternative detour routes were discarded in 1990 because they were too expensive. Public outrage reached its peak in the spring of 1998, when 220 formal objections were filed against the project, and an association called "Verrückt das Viadükt" (Crazy Viaduct) collected signatures for a petition against "Fil Rouge". In 1999, the association, together with the VCS, submitted the cantonal popular initiative demanding the construction of a new underground through station. The results of their initiative are today's through station Löwenstrasse and the Weinbergtunnel.

INTERIM USE OF IM VIADUKT
Particularly since the 1990s, not only craftsmen or private persons have set up shop at the IM VIADUKT location, but also tenants, who have made a great contribution to revitalizing the district with their great innovations. Bananen + Frucht, Bogen 13, the Velowerkstatt, Calleri, and Greek Comestibles are probably the best-known examples. Whether a restaurant, cultural venue or specialty shop: The dedicated business people were not bothered by the sparse facilities under the damp arches. End of March 2003, however, they had to vacate their niches because the SBB had plans to renovate the viaduct and would have to remove the constructions to do so. This led to further protest in the district – the city and the SBB were up against the suspicion that they wanted to create an upper-class shopping area. Workshops were held with local residents, and there was an architectural competition.

THE PROJECT IM VIADUKT
In the summer of 2004, the project submitted by EM2N architects and their partner Zulauf Seippel Schweingruber Landscape Architects were chosen as the winners of the architectural competition for the redevelopment of the viaduct arches and the design of the Lettenviaduktweg. In autumn of 2004, it was announced that the PWG Foundation would be in charge of reconstruction as the principal building client. Contrary to other interested parties, the PWG Foundation had no intention of building an upper-class shopping mall or nightlife hotspot in the new buildings, but instead wanted to fill the viaduct with tenants who were compatible with the district and rooted within the region. IM VIADUKT was planned as a meeting place for citizens of the district and its visitors. Together with professional planners, the PWG Foundation then refined the project until it was ready for execution. In 2011, the viaduct constructions were awarded three architectural prizes.

THE PWG FOUNDATION
The purpose of the non-profit PWG Foundation is to maintain and create affordable apartments and commercial premises. It was founded following a popular initiative. Over the years, the PWG Foundation has made a name for itself as a reliable property buyer with fair letting practices. In order to create additional affordable residential and commercial space, the PWG Foundation constructs new buildings and regularly optimises its properties.

GIFT CARDS

Gift cards, which are valid in all shops of IM VIADUKT, can be ordered at info@pwg.ch. After ordering, the gift cards can be sent via mail or be picked up at the PWG Foundation's office:

Stiftung PWG
Werdstrasse 36
Postfach
8036 Zürich
043 322 14 14

Coming Soon: Our new gift card webshop for an even faster present for your loved ones.

YOUR EVENT

BOGEN 16

Bogen 16 can accomodate up to 40 persons and can be rented in the evenings or on weekends for courses, wedding receptions, family celebrations or apéros at a low cost. It is equipped with a kitchen complete with tableware and cutlery; plus a beamer, screen and sound system can be reserved upon request for an additional small fee.

T 044 412 83 80
Online-Reservationsanfrage
www.stadt-zuerich.ch

BOGEN F

Bogen F can be used by private parties, companies, and clubs for events with up to 200 persons. It is particularly suitable for celebrations with a particularly personal touch and a very special atmosphere. The Restaurant Viadukt will gladly be the exclusive caterer for your event.

T 043 204 18 90
bogenf@netz-werk.ch
bogenf.ch

CLUB EL SOCIAL

The dance studio with a view of the Josefwiese can be rented on Saturday evenings and Sundays. Events with up to 60 persons are welcome in Arch ...10. Besides a bar, Club el Social is also equipped with a piano, a light and sound system, as well as a beamer and screen.

T 044 241 21 40
info@elsocial.ch
elsocial.ch

RESTAURANT MARKTHALLE

Whether it is a corporate event, a family celebration or a party among friends: For groups up to 60 people, the Restaurant Markthalle offers space for all those who are looking for a unique place to celebrate special occasions. During the warmer months, the beautifully planted garden is available for use, weather permitting.

Email: info@restaurant-maha.ch
www.restaurant-markthalle.ch

THE PWG FOUNDATION

The purpose of the non-profit PWG Foundation is to maintain and create affordable apartments and commercial premises. It was founded following a popular initiative. Over the years, the PWG Foundation has made a name for itself as a reliable property buyer with fair rental practices. In order to create additional affordable residential and commercial space, the PWG Foundation constructs new buildings and regularly optimizes its properties.

Öffnungszeiten

MARKTHALLE

Mo. bis Sa. von 9 bis 20 Uhr

Spezielle Öffnungszeiten:

St. Jakob Beck

Mo. bis Fr. von 7 bis 20 Uhr
Sa. von 8 bis 20 Uhr

Tritt Käse

Mo. bis Do. von 9 bis 20 Uhr
Fr. und Sa. von 8 bis 20 Uhr

IM VIADUKT

Dieses Jahr gilt es an folgenden Daten die speziellen Öffnungszeiten zu beachten:

Karfreitag, 29.3.24 
Ostermontag, 1.4.24
Sechseläuten, 15.4.24
Tag der Arbeit, 1.5.24
Auffahrt, 9.5.24
Pfingstmontag, 20.5.24

RESTAURANTS

Restaurant Markthalle

Mo. 9 - 23 Uhr
Di. bis Sa. 9 - 24 Uhr
So. geschlossen

Ambrosi Coffee Bar

Mo. bis Fr. 11.30 - 14 Uhr, 17:30 - 22:30 Uhr
Sa. 11 - 22:30 Uhr
So. 10 - 22:30 Uhr

Restaurant Viadukt

Mo. bis Fr. 8 bis 24 Uhr
Sa. 9 bis 24 Uhr
So. 10 bis 24 Uhr

IM VIADUKT LÄDEN

Allgemeine Öffnungszeiten:

Mo. bis Fr. von 11 - 19 Uhr
Sa. von 10 - 18 Uhr

Für die individuellen Öffnungszeiten der einzelnen Läden bitte die jeweiligen Bögen-Seiten besuchen.

Kontakt

ALLGEMEINE FRAGEN

Für allgemeine Fragen zu IM VIADUKT wenden Sie sich bitte an:
info@imviadukt.ch

MEDIENANFRAGEN

Die Stiftung PWG schickt Ihnen auf Anfrage hochauflösendes Bildmaterial aller Viaduktbögen und aktuelle Informationen gerne zu.

info@imviadukt.ch

Standort

ANREISE

Viaduktstrasse 21/97, 8005 Zürich

Tram: 

Linie 4, Linie 13 und Linie 17 bis Löwenbräu

S-Bahn: 

S3, S5, S6, S7, S9, S11, S12, S15, S16 bis Bahnhof Hardbrücke

Bus:

Linie 33 und Linie 72 bis Schiffbau oder Bahnhof Hardbrücke

Zu Fuss vom Hauptbahnhof Zürich:

Quartierweg: 

Ausgang Sihlquai Richtung Zollstrasse über Hafnerstrasse zur Josefstrasse bis IM VIADUKT.

Flussweg:

Ausgang Landesmuseum über Platzspitz zum Drahtschmidliweg, Richtung Dynamo, entlang der Limmat über Lettenviadukt bis IM VIADUKT.

DÜRFEN WIR VORSTELLEN – UNSERE NACHBARN:

PRIME TOWER, HARDBRÜCKE

Grossstadtgefühle kommen auf mit dem Prime Tower als überragendem Blickfang. An dieser Ecke des ehemaligen Industriequartiers vermischt sich Urbanität mit einem dynamischen und vielfältigen Kulturleben. Der 36-stöckige Prime Tower ist mit 126 Metern das höchste Gebäude der Stadt. Beim wichtigen SBB-Verkehrsknotenpunkt Hardbrücke steigen pro Tag bis zu 80'000 Fahrgäste ein, aus und um. Er gehört zu den 15 meistfrequentierten Bahnhöfen der Schweiz.

LÖWENBRÄU-AREAL
Vis-à-vis der Viaduktbögen ist der Schmelztiegel zeitgenössischer Kunst in Zürich. Das Löwenbräu-Areal bietet unter anderem Raum für die Kunsthalle und das Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst. Namhafte Galerien wie etwa Hauser & Wirth präsentieren hier Werke internationaler und Schweizer Künstler. Die Verlage Parkett und Edition Patrick Frey haben sich auf Kunstpublikationen spezialisiert.

UNTERER LETTEN | OBERER LETTEN
Wo Urbanität und Natur verschmelzen – baden, sich ausruhen und entspannen an lauschigen Schattenplätzchen oder gemütlich spazieren entlang der Limmat. Das Freizeitareal Oberer Letten und die Badi Unterer Letten bieten Liegewiesen, ein Beach-Volleyball-Feld sowie Bars und Restaurants. Das Restaurant Primitivo beim Oberen Letten avanciert von Mai bis September zum Szenetreff. Im Juli findet in der Badi Unterer Letten das Kino-Openair Filmfluss statt.

JOSEFWIESE
Entspannung mitten in der Stadt – in der grünen Oase im dicht besiedelten Kreis 5 lässt es sich gut aus dem Alltag ausklinken – sei es für einen Lunch-Break, um mit der Familie zu picknicken, um Pétanque zu spielen, slacklinen zu üben, einen Geburtstag zu feiern oder für ein Feierabendbier. Die Josefwiese ist ein nach dem Vorbild des Sozialreformers Leberecht Migge konzipierter Volkspark. Die Wiese ist heute die einzige grössere intensiv nutzbare Grünfläche im Kreis 5.

GEROLDSTRASSE
Bekannt für ihr reges Nachtleben sind hier auch viele Concept-Stores, Designläden wie der Bogen 33 und Ateliers zu finden. Von Vintage-Kleidern im Rockabilly-Stil im Schiff Ahoi über Accessoires aus Stroh im Le Tom bis zu zeitloser Mode im Townhouse – die Auswahl ist vielfältig. Neben dem Freitag Flagship Store aus 19 recycelten Frachtcontainern liegt der lauschige Frau Gerolds Garten. Das Gelände ist ein modularer Stadtgarten mit kleinen Shops, frischen Menüs und einer grosszügigen Sonnenterrasse.

GESCHICHTE

ZEUGEN DER INDUSTRIALISIERUNG

Die Eisenbahn hatte im vorletzten Jahrhundert entscheidenden Einfluss auf die städtebauliche Entwicklung: Im Industriequartier von Zürich fuhren die Züge über Bahndämme, die als undurchdringliche Riegel der Ausdehnung des Quartiers im Wege standen. 1894 wurden die Dämme durch Viadukte ersetzt. Bereits damals nistete sich Gewerbe im Viadukt ein. Bis zu 200 Steinhauer gingen dort ihrem Handwerk nach, zuerst im Freien, dann in schuppenartigen Einbauten, die an der Stelle der heutigen Markthalle errichtet wurden. Neben dem Granitsteinhauer Stacchi betrieb die «Bananenzentrale», so der Volksmund, einen Handel mit Südfrüchten und röstete Erdnüsschen. Später kam der Automechaniker Dittgen dazu.

FIL ROUGE
Ende der 1980er-Jahre wollten die SBB den Viadukt unter dem Projektnamen «Fil Rouge» ostwärts erweitern, um die Kapazität der Linie Zürich HB–Oerlikon zu erhöhen. Die neuen Geleise wären gegenüber der bestehenden Lage zwei bis drei Meter höher zu liegen gekommen. Der anschliessende Tunnel wäre zweigleisig geblieben. Dabei wären die Züge den Anwohnern drei Meter vor den Fenstern vorbeigefahren. Zwei alternative Umfahrungsvarianten wurden 1990 aus Kostengründen verworfen. Der Volkszorn erreichte im Frühjahr 1998 seinen Höhepunkt. Es gingen 220 Einsprachen gegen das Projekt ein, und der Verein «Verrückt das Viadükt» sammelte Unterschriften für eine Petition gegen «Fil Rouge». 1999 reichte der Verein zusammen mit dem VCS die kantonale Volksinitiative für einen neuen unterirdischen Durchgangsbahnhof ein. Das Ergebnis des Widerstandes sind der Durchgangsbahnhof Löwenstrasse und der Weinbergtunnel.

ZWISCHENNUTZUNG VIADUKT
Insbesondere seit den 1990er-Jahren hatten sich unter den Bögen nicht nur Handwerker oder Private angesiedelt, sondern auch innovative Mieter, die einiges für die Belebung des Quartiers taten. Bananen + Frucht, Bogen 13, die Velowerkstatt, Calleri und ein griechischer Comestibles sind nur die bekanntesten Beispiele. Ob Restaurant, Kulturlokal oder Spezialitätengeschäft: Den engagierten Geschäftsleuten war die karge Einrichtung unter den feuchten Bögen egal. Doch per Ende März 2003 mussten sie ihre Nischen verlassen, weil die SBB den Viadukt sanieren wollten und dazu die Einbauten entfernen mussten. Im Quartier erhob sich Protest. Die Stadt und die SBB mussten dem Misstrauen entgegenwirken, dass hier eine Schickimicki-Meile entstehe. Unter Beizug der Anwohner fanden Workshops statt, und es wurde ein Architekturwettbewerb durchgeführt.

DAS PROJEKT IM VIADUKT
Im Sommer 2004 wurde das Projekt von EM2N Architekten und Zulauf Seippel Schweingruber Landschaftsarchitekten zum Sieger des Architekturwettbewerbs für die Neunutzung der Viaduktbögen und die Gestaltung des Lettenviaduktwegs erkoren. Im Herbst 2004 wurde bekannt, dass die Stiftung PWG den Ausbau der Viaduktbögen in der Rolle als Bauherrin übernehmen würde. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Interessenten wollte die PWG keine schicke Ladenpassage oder Ausgangsmeile in den zukünftigen Einbauten realisieren, sondern das Viadukt mit quartierverträglichen und regional verwurzelten Nutzungen füllen, sodass IM VIADUKT zu einem Begegnungsort für das Quartier und darüber hinaus wird. Zusammen mit den Fachplanenden hat die Stiftung PWG in der Folge das Projekt verfeinert und zur Ausführungsreife gebracht. Im Jahr 2011 heimsten die Viaduktbauten gleich drei Baupreise ein.

DIE STIFTUNG PWG
Die gemeinnützige Stiftung PWG bezweckt, preisgünstige Wohnungen und Gewerberäume zu erhalten und zu schaffen. Die Gründung geht auf eine Volksinitiative zurück. Über die Jahre hat sich die Stiftung PWG einen Namen gemacht als zuverlässige Liegenschaftenkäuferin mit fairer Vermietungspraxis. Um zusätzlichen preisgünstigen Wohn- und Gewerberaum zu schaffen, erstellt die Stiftung PWG Neubauten und optimiert ihre Liegenschaften regelmässig.

Gutscheine

Gutscheine, die in allen Shops von IM VIADUKT gültig sind, können bei info@pwg.ch bestellt werden. Nach Bestellung können die Gutscheine per Post versendet oder bei der Geschäftsstelle der Stiftung PWG abgeholt werden:

Stiftung PWG
Werdstrasse 36
Postfach
8036 Zürich
043 322 14 14

Coming Soon: Unser neuer Gutschein-Webshop für ein noch schnelleres Gschänkli an deine Liebsten.

Ihr Anlass

BOGEN 16

Der Bogen 16 bietet Platz für 40 Personen. Er kann abends und am Wochenende kostengünstig für Kurse, Hochzeiten, Familienfeste oder Apéros gemietet werden. Es gibt eine Küche mit Geschirr, und auf Anfrage können zusätzlich Beamer, Leinwand und Musikanlage gegen einen kleinen Aufpreis reserviert werden.

T 044 412 83 80
Online-Reservationsanfrage
www.stadt-zuerich.ch

BOGEN F

Der Bogen F kann von Privatpersonen, Firmen und Vereinen für Veranstaltungen bis maximal 150 Personen gemietet werden. Er ist für Feiern mit persönlicher Note in speziellem Ambiente bestens geeignet. Das Restaurant Viadukt kümmert sich exklusiv um das Catering.

Tel. 043 204 18 90
bogenf@netz-werk.ch
www.bogenf.ch

CLUB EL SOCIAL

Der Tanzraum mit Blick auf die Josefwiese kann an Samstagabenden und sonntags gemietet werden. Im Bogen 10 sind Anlässe mit bis zu 60 Personen willkommen. Neben einer Bar bietet das el Social auch ein Klavier, eine Licht- und Soundanlage sowie einen Beamer und eine Leinwand.

044 241 21 40
info@elsocial.ch
www.elsocial.ch

RESTAURANT MARKTHALLE

Ganz gleich ob Firmenanlass, Familienfeier oder ein Fest unter Freund:innen: Für Gruppen bis 60 Personen bietet das Restaurant Markthalle Platz für all jene, die einen besonderen Ort suchen, um eine spezielle Gelegenheit zu feiern. Während der warmen Jahreszeit steht bei gutem Wetter der schön bepflanzte Garten zur Verfügung.

info@restaurant-maha.ch
www.restaurant-markthalle.ch